Board of Commissioners


Medic receives its oversight from a seven-member Agency Board of Commissioners. The Agency Board of Commissioners is comprised of members from the County of Mecklenburg (MC), Novant Health System (NH) and Atrium Health (AH).

  • David Callaway, MD – AH
  • Saad Ehtisham– NH
  • Sid Fletcher, MD – NH, Chair
  • Michael Bryant-MC
  • Joy Greear– NH
  • Katie Kaney-AH
  • Gary Little, MD-AH

The Board meets publicly at Medic, 3:30pm (unless otherwise noted).  Meeting dates are as follows:

  • May 20, 2021
  • September 23, 2021
  • December 9, 2021



The Medical Control Board is responsible for setting and approving all emergency medical response protocols for Mecklenburg County. These are also the protocols followed by Medic and its employees. The Medical Control Board members are appointed by the Agency Board of Commissioners.

Voting Members 

  • Eric Deshaies, MD – NH
  • Mike Gibbs, MD –AH
  • Sandra Giller, MD – NH
  • Josh Loyd, MD-NH
  • Jason Mutch, MD– NH
  • David Pearson, MD-AH
  • Bradley Thomas, MD-AH
  • Catherine Waggy, DO-AH

Non-Voting Medical Control Board Members

  • Kathy Haddix-Hill, NH
  • Gibbie Harris, Director, Public Health, MC
  • Reginald Johnson, City of Charlotte Fire Dept
  • David Leath, Mint Hill Volunteer Fire Dept
  • Joe Penner, Executive Director
  • Jason Schwebach, AH
  • Doug Swanson, MD Medical Director
  • Community Representative

The Medical Control Board meets publically at Medic, 8:30am. Meeting dates are as follows:

  • May 18, 2021
  • August 17, 2021
  • November 16, 2021